Engaged: The Story of the Epic Proposal

Hiking Smith Rock the morning after the proposal.

Hiking Smith Rock the morning after the proposal.

So everyone has been asking about how Jon proposed. And I jump at the opportunity to tell it again and again. He went above and beyond, just like he always does, to show me that he knows me, listens to me and loves me enough to want to spend the rest of his life with me.

And I want to share the story with you.

To give you a little background, Jon and I met three years ago at Young Life’s Washington Family Ranch during Campaigners Weekend Camp. We were both working in the kitchen; I was baking, Jon was serving. From the beginning I knew there was something special about this guy and his heart for Jesus was ridiculously attractive.

Inside Washington Family Ranch's Kitchen where Jon and I first met.

Inside Washington Family Ranch’s Kitchen where Jon and I first met.

Ever since that initial meeting, that place out on Antelope, Oregon became special to us. It’s not only where we met, but it’s also where we started our journey together a year later.

So this year, as Campaigner weekend rolled around, I asked Jon if he wanted to out there one last time. He convinced me that he had to work but that I should still go with my Young Life UO crew. He also did a very good job assuring me that he was so sorry he couldn’t go and I didn’t think anything of it.

As I arrived at the camp on Friday, January 30 ready to check in and drop my bags off in my room with the rest of the girls, I was informed that I was going to be staying in a different lodge since I had registered late. I was guided to the Adult Guest Lodge, still completely unaware of the situation about to occur.

I walked into the hallway and there, in the dim light, I saw the fireplace blazing and Jon sitting, guitar in hand waiting for me. Cue in the waterworks. In complete overwhelming joy, I was balling my eyes out. At that moment I knew it was happening and nothing can prepare you for that feeling.10404475_10152530740642827_6159806991393043829_n

After I sat in a chair across from him, surrounded by candles and flowers he sang to me. Then we got up and danced and on the second song (I don’t even remember what the song was because I could barely hear anything other than my heartbeat) he got down on his knee, pulled out the ring (read on for more detail) and asked me to marry him. And of course, failing to hold back my tears, I said the most important yes of my entire life.

My beautiful friends. From left to right: Allie, Emilie, Me, Jon, Lene, Rebecca and Anna

My beautiful friends. From left to right: Allie, Emilie, Me, Jon, Lene, Rebecca and Anna

We continued to dance, taking in the moment. Then, my favorite song Aquaman by Walk on the Moon came on and I heard a slight creek in the railing above. As I turned around, I looked up to see my parents and closest friends lining the railing and staircase waiting to share this special moment with us. I was surrounded by the people I love most and who also love me dearly. I cannot even begin to explain how I was feeling at that moment. Thankful, blessed or overjoyed do not do it justice.

Jon had been formulating this plan for weeks. He organized rides, times, decorations, music and the location of the proposal. On friday, they all went up together and set up for the big night. After waiting, practicing and praying four hours, I finally arrived and we were engaged.

My parents, Jon and I.

My parents, Jon and I.

Afterwards we ran down to camp to tell the rest of our Young Life family and to tell them all the story. I decided not to stay for the weekend, knowing how engagment-high I would be and instead went home with my fiance, parents and best friend. It was truly better than a fairytale.

I cannot wait to marry this man!

Oh and the ring!… It was his grandma Nini’s who passed it down to him for this special day. It is vintage, yellow-gold with three beautiful dimonds. It’s absolutely perfect. And don’t be afraid to ask to see it, because I love showing it off. 😉

Love always, The future Mrs. Moore

IMG_0501.JPG

2 thoughts on “Engaged: The Story of the Epic Proposal

Leave a comment